Nebraska EPSCoR designates MRI awards

March 26, 2019

Nebraska EPSCoR Major Research Instrumentation (MRI) Program Awards Equipment Funding

In pursuit of its mission to improve this state's research capacity, Nebraska EPSCoR issued a Request For Proposals (RFP) in early 2019. The RFP criteria included: maximum $200,000 / minimum $75,000 with cost sharing of 50% by requesting unit, for funding of a single, well-integrated instrument or substantial upgrade to an existing instrument or a high-performance computing system to current equipment. Proposals were instructed to be submitted no later than February 1, in a single package from the requesting campus Sponsored Programs Office, with contents ranked for institutional priority.

The NE EPSCoR State Committee made the following selections for funding:

University of Nebraska-Lincoln

David Swanson: Acquisition of Accelerated Computing for NU Researchers          $199,946

David Sellmyer: Acquisition of High Resolution Detector System for FEI
Scanning Transmission Electron Microscope                                                            $126,111.50

Donald Becker: Acquisition of an Instrument System for cryoEM Sample
Preparation and Initial Evaluation at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln               $  94,000

Creighton University

Shashank Dravid: A High Throughput Multi-User Biacore Surface Plasmon
Resonance System for Studying Biomolecular and Biochemical Interactions          $200,000

Joel Destino: Acquisition of a Scanning Electron Microscope for Use in
Undergraduate Research                                                                                             $111,925

University of Nebraska at Omaha

Dario Ghersi: Acquisition of a dedicated GPU-accelerated rack server for
bioinformatics, computational genomics, and health informatics applications         $  94,520


                                                                               Total Request to NE EPSCoR = $826,502.50